Peille village name is of Latin origin, meaning a ball. During couple of hundred years the name of the village was changed several times.
In 1029 it was called St. Pons, in the beginning of the 12th century – Peila and starting from 1136 it was recorded as Pell in the official registry of Nice.
The signs of the first tribes on the territory of Peille village belong to the epoch of Neolithic.
In the official historical records the village is mentioned in 1029 as ownership of some Counsel.
In 1176 the village was handed over to the lords of Provence.
After the citizens supported the lords of Provence in the conflict with Nice County, the village acquired a special status.
During this period of time the village of Peille together with Lustra and Utell cities and the republican confederation created a union of trade support.
Also they concluded a union with cities: Peillon, Contes and Sainte –Agnes in the 12-13th centuries.
Starting from 1388 all the cities were controlled by Savoy Kingdom.
The main attractions of Peille village are the Roman Church of St. Maria, built in 12-13th centuries.
In 16th century the altar and the inner design of the church were reconstructed.
In 1865 Peille village was controlled by France.
Why to visit Peille village?
The village is famous for one of the most popular tourists’ route – the Route of Napoleon.
This route was sued 3 000 years ago in order to cross the Alps.
Julius Cesar took his troupes here in 57 BC.
Napoleon together with his army of 46 000 soldiers used this road in 1800.
When tourists walk on this road they can see the plates telling the story of these events.
In 900 St Bernard Menton opened a shelter for travelers here; it is open nowadays as well.
Ancient pictures on the rocks are in close walking distance from the village and hundreds of tourists are coming here to see these artifacts.